Bonnie and Clyde

Julie over at Attempts at Rational Behavior followed up on my blog yesterday about Glenn Beck and climate change (I love Julie). I’m the Clyde to her Bonnie. I like working off each other. Partners in crime, I tell you.

So go read it, dammit. She’s able to post videos from the Daily Show right in the body of her post!

My favorite line from Julie is this one (emphasis mine):

I’ve considered myself an environmentalist for years, and though I’ve accepted the data regarding AGW, my main concerns have always been the general treatment of the planet and conservation. I’ve always loved the Haida Indian saying, “We do not inherit this land from our ancestors; we borrow it from our children.” For me personally it never mattered whether global warming was occurring, and if so whether man helped create it. None of that was going to keep me from recycling or driving a fuel efficient car. Most green technologies, which may be expensive to implement now, will in time save people both ecologically and economically.

One of the greatest parts of being a rationalist and a naturalist is the very essence of respect from the bottom up en lieu of the top down starting with invisible beings. When one’s view comes from the idea that your significance comes from millions of years of beautiful, slowly-driven evolutionary history, a person respects the environment, the animals that he keeps or eats, and certainly the oxygen rich plant life that covers the earth.

Gastronomy is life, not some unsubstantial play on supernatural bread. No matter how hard a person tries to live on Jesus or Mohammed or Buddha alone, he still has to eat real food to get to next Friday.

Tina and I strive to be more and more vegetarian, and when we eat meat, we attempt to be mindful of the sacrifice. If you’ve ever heard the squeal of a pig at slaughter, you know they  aren’t willingly giving their life for your hangover breakfast. Religion stole the essence of respecting meals and degraded eating. There’s a trend among the religious that I criticize, and it’s the devaluation of food preparation, eating and digestion.

What does this have to do with the climate issue? We borrowed this earth from our Children. Live, eat, play and work like we do. Like YOU do.

Bon appétit.

One thought on “Bonnie and Clyde

  1. Hey Clyde…thanks again for the shout out :-)

    We’ve toyed with the idea of vegetarianism for a long time; not just for the environmental aspect but because, as you put it, the squeal of a pig destined for the slaughterhouse. I’ve read the PETA reports of how animals are treated and killed, and most of what goes on can be handled so much more humanely and I applaud their efforts in that respect.

    The biblical idea that man has dominance over all the plants and animals upsets me, and I like how you said those with acceptance of the evolutionary process of our planet have a much higher respect for it. Not everyone has to be a vegan, but a compromising stewardship of all the species and all the land should be the goal.

    I really enjoyed my conservation studies and I learned a lot more than you hear in the climate change debates. Conservation is so much more important than people think. The eco-system is such a delicate balance, and so much damage has been done to it by man’s selfishness. From pollution and waste mis-management to the introduction of non-native species, man is to blame for so much of the planet’s destruction without even contemplating global warming.

Leave a Reply

