Does a Hawk Sighting Count as Superstition?

Tina and I were having a heart to heart yesterday about all that’s going on. It’s an emotional time, but a wonderfully hopeful time. We’re pioneering into uncharted territory … at least for us.

We were at the end of our talk. We had just hugged, and as I stood up to walk away, there was a HUGE bird in the tree out our front window. I’m almost positive it was a hawk. But sometimes I hesitate to identify birds.

I got really excited and said, “Tina, stand up! No don’t stand up. I mean, stand up really really slowly!” I wanted so badly for Tina to see the beautiful masterpiece of a bird that was at arms length outside the window.

I ran and got my camera. I had to change lenses, and fortunately I snapped off this shot before another hawk flew up and they both flew off together.

Back in my superstitious days, this would have been a sign from heaven. I struggle with that even now.

“Wow,” I said to myself. “That totally looks like a sign from heaven. What if I’m wrong about this whole god thing?” Then I fell down, bumped my head and drew … the flux capacitor!

I’ve written off the possibility that our bird friend came from a supernatural place. It doesn’t make any sense. If I were to think it was a sign, there’s a whole slew of lies I could tell myself regarding what the bird symbolizes about the mysterious possibilities.

Or I could see it for what it was, a majestic encounter with a beautiful beast in plain view of my living room.

Seeing the hawk served as a positive sign alright. It completely awed us about nature, about its ability to perplex and inspire. It was certainly a time when we needed a reminder of how life has evolved on this planet for so long and our efforts are invigorated and inspired with science and human reasoning.

However, we are connected to that majestic bird, and it to us. Connection to all that lives is what gives me/us/you wings. Look around you at all that there is to admire about nature, and remind yourself that 99% of all living things that ever existed are now extinct. Ninety-nine percent!

If all there is around us is 1% of life that ever existed, and we are all so dumbstruck by nature’s beauty, imagine what you’d be like if there were 99% more beauty!

Truly it should put perspective on evolution versus “intelligent design”. What intelligence gets a 55 or 60 on a test and is considered bright? Let alone, who gets a ONE on a test, and deserves any right to be called “intelligent”?

Think about it.

4 thoughts on “Does a Hawk Sighting Count as Superstition?

  1. What a wonderful bird and a wonderful post to go along with it.

    Your point is one that I have found so difficult to convey to many religious believers. When I look around at the life here on Earth, I’m so deeply moved it almost brings tears to my eyes.

    Not because I look through the lens of creation but rather because I realize how fortunate I am to experience it here and now as the result of billions of years of evolution.

    When I was a believer, there was no great awe for me to look at the universe and our small dot in it. It was just a bla­zé, “Look at what the deity created.” Now every single living and non-living thing holds a fascination that makes me want to learn more about it.

    I did a quick search and I think it may be a Cooper’s Hawk:

    http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Coopers_Hawk/id

    1. Romans 1:20
      20 For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse.

  2. Yup…I’m with you all here..nature in itself is beauty..and especially birds… I get excited when I see something unusual. rare or majestic…my other half just grunts…these things don’t impress him !!

Leave a Reply

