The Decline of Religiosity

I’ve been seeing charts and graphs regarding religiosity on a couple different blogs lately. The first one shows state religiosity.

I watched a little FOX the other night with Bill O. It was a best of the year show, and he replayed “tape” with Richard Dawkins. He made the comment that 80% of the USA are Christians (Catholics and Protestants lumped together). Because 80% are believers, we non-believers can scream all we want. We’re going to continue to get batted down by the iron fist of the religious. Then I saw a clip online where Dr. Laura said the same thing on her show. She said it with the same smug, iron fisty kind of “neh neh boo boo” kind of attitude. Where are they getting this information?

But even if it’s true, it’s not true for too much longer.

These charts are encouraging. Living in a state below the national average surely must help with alleviating the Yeshua Fog. When I look at the IP addresses of the folks who comment most at Le Café, it makes sense. Atheist Julie’s from Pennsilvania. Z-dawg-denny is from Nebraska. Makarios is up in Canada some place. Petursey is free and clear in Holland. Those ex-pats in Holland are awesome! Neuropunk is NYC. Dan J is in Indiana & Steve is suffering through life in Oklahoma. The only thing there are prairies and musicals. We just might gather and throw rotten veggies at you and scream, “Boo!” Thank goodness Renee is from Washington.

Many readers are from NC or the southeast coast. Senior Witteveen, SiL, SAW and Xina are from NC, but I’ve not heard a direct message from any of them regarding what station their religiosity is currently programed to. Well, all but maybe the first two. SiL seems to be complimentary of my perspective (especially before I was an admitted atheist). Her views are certainly unorthodox and don’t really comply with a stereotypical fundamentalist. Senior Witteveen’s seem to have made some changes in his beliefs, but for the most part remains “fundamentally conservative” on paper.

I’ve found that if you live in NC, as long as you say very little, everyone assumes you’re a believer. That one reason why I became vocal. I was sick of not being taken seriously.

After a quick conversation with my brother yesterday, I feel compelled to mention that I never set out to disprove or rid myself of Christianity. The more research I did, the more sense it made to retire it. That’s it. I really set out to reconcile my inclinations and doubts with academic perspectives. Now, don’t you just feel worse?

Anywho, maybe it’s the emotions of the approaching New Year or all the cocktails I’ve been drinking since 5 this morning, but I love you all. Thanks for reading. Well, I love all of you except ____________. You know who you are.

I’ll post more charts below the fold.

BTW, If I didn’t mention you, it’s not because I don’t love you. Some of you lurk and I don’t know who you are. I love you, too.


Gallup poll shows a lot of progress on the side of rational thought. All of them show religion on the decline for the most part and non-religion on the up.

Can you guys read these charts for yourselves, or do I have to hold your hands and walk you through them?

Honk.

**UPDATE** these seem to be illegible at the size they are posted at. If you click them, they will become legible. Press the “back” button to return to the blog.

Click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

8 thoughts on “The Decline of Religiosity

  1. Remind people who constantly spout that 80% figure that 80% of people also used to believe the world was flat. We proved them wrong, too.

    1. Heh. Thanks for the reminder. If you’ve ever heard comedian David Cross’ bit about how people back in biblical times were even dumber than they are today, it seems to me to be a good blanket assumption about most biblical ideas AND keeps me skeptical about current ideas.

  2. You guys are so funny. Why does it matter? Everyone has a belief system. I don’t find “non-belief” even rational. The idea of “non-belief” is for individuals who are arrogant and full of pride thinking they are in essense gods.

    The church was in decline during the 80′s and into the early 90′s; however 90% of megachurches are now growing and growing fast. The gospel channel in the US is growing fast.

    In fact, Campus Crusade which is just one organization out of thousands had 10 million new decisions for Christ just last year which were recorded and presented as statistics.

    I think the godless just live in a fantasy world. If the godless were ever successful at bringing down Christianity, it would only result in the end of science itself. Science has no inherent morality and needs Christianity to remain ethical and to keep society ethical. Without Christianity, the West would not have the stability necessary for educational pursuits to be pursued.

    God Bless

    1. Ten million new decisions? That’s fantastic. My family has a history of working with CCfC. I’m glad to hear they’re doing so well.

      Since these 10 million converts have been presented as statistics, that would be easy for you to reference them here via, say, a web link.

      We’re starving for some direct links and citations.

    2. 1. Clearly you think it matters or you wouldn’t have commented.

      2. I think it’s far less arrogant than believing I’m so special that a whole world and universe was created just for me.

      3. The assertion that without Christianity the west would not have stability necessary for educational pursuits is a logical fallacy. In the first place, education and research existed before Christianity, there were many civilizations and advanced forms of government (see Rome). In the second, if you’re referring specifically to the US it might be wise for you to remember that lack of evidence does not support your assertion, it merely begs the question.

  3. LOL..just LOL…spouting his usual crap to try and get a response to try prop up his suffering self-esteme …… There’s no point commenting on the rubbish and veiled insults he spouts because 1) it goes in one ear and come out the other as there’s just a void in the middle of his head and 2) anything anyone says against his sky fairy he ignores and then reports back to his mind controller on the following sunday… sad sad sad

    1. Yeah, it’s pretty bad, you’re right.

      Without Christianity, we wouldn’t have had the middle ages, slavery, intolerance and violence toward women, minorities or homosexuals and illiteracy rates reaching 95%. Garsh, Petursey, we could’ve developed modern science faster without Christianity.

      Christianity dragged its feet for all its history and behind her she drags development and progress.

      It gets so boring hearing someone else repeat all the things I was taught as a teenager. His whole spiel — his whole approach — is a tired old method of Christian “academics”. He repeats what I’ve said and written verbatim. It’s as if I have all the things I wrote as a teenager, and he copied the script and repeats ad nauseam. I used to be convinced, too. But what I found is that I never had facts to back it up, kind of like zdenny is doing now. He says a lot. Takes the time to write it all out. Maybe a cut and a paste here and there. And voila, a lot of great information without a credible reference (without a reference at all) nor a shred of corroborating evidence.

  4. You guys are so funny. Why does it matter? Everyone has a belief system. I don’t find “non-belief” even rational. The idea of “non-belief” is for individuals who are arrogant and full of pride thinking they are in essense gods.

    1. Clearly you think it matters or you wouldn’t have commented.

    2. I think it’s far less arrogant than believing I’m so special that a whole world and universe was created just for me.

Leave a Reply

