Christians denounce Robertson, the rest of us are holding rotten veggies and manure to throw

Last night I updated my facebook status with the following: “I am loving the cross spectral disgust for Pat Robertson’s Haiti statement. And it is “Robertson” not “Robinson”. I know some of you are so pissed that his name’s spelling is lost in anger. This is the perfect time when rotten vegetables and manure should be thrown.”

Since then, I’ve been happy to hear about Christians at higher levels of leadership denouncing Robertson’s piss-poor “interpretation” of life and death. Friendly Atheist Hemant Mehta blogged about Christians who are appalled by Robertson’s idiocy. Among them are some of my personal favorite religious types: Rob Bell and Shane Claiborne namely.

I’m shocked and awed by Shep Smith and FOX New’s response (at least on his show). I will remove perpetual FOX disgust for a minute and a half to say, “Thank you, Shep Smith, for being a shiny portion on your organization’s raunchy turd.”

Soaring Dodo’s Steve P sent me a link last night for Rachel Maddow’s interview with the Haitian ambassador to the United States. You should stop by his blog and watch what he says (minute 1:25).

There are lots of ways to contribute monetarily. As a humanitarian, this is what is most important right now. Tina and I made a generous donation to Salvation Army. Won’t you contribute too?

Go do, doodoo heads.

Oh, and if you’re a reader and you’re on facebook, friend me. I like knowing what people look like.



2 thoughts on “Christians denounce Robertson, the rest of us are holding rotten veggies and manure to throw

  1. It isn’t that frequent, but when I see a Shep Smith clip, it puts a little sliver of guilt in my noggin.

    It sucks, because my family in NC really likes FOX news, so when I rag on the network, it inevitably must hurt their feelings.

    Anyway, I’m glad to see there’s a voice of reason on that station.

Leave a Reply

