In light of our recent effort at an organized trolling war, The Whore of all the Earth reminded me to laugh

The Christian vs. atheism landwar is ON! Petursey and I have had a fun time discussing religion and non religion with the Pullman WAs. You should go over and read the thread. The most thrilling part has been that we were called trolls.

Bring popcorn and ju ju bees. You’ll need snacks.

Wait a second? Didn’t Pullman WA’s own Mark Tetzlaff show up on a months-old, inactive blog post and say, “Personally I find many problems with Dawkins argument. See my blog http://pullmanwainfoaboutjesuschrist.wordpress.com/2010/01/24/the-greatest-show-on-earth-is-it-a-declaration-of-absolute-truth/“.  That’s a little trollish. He definitely elicited a response from me. I told him his review was a flimsy exhibit of Christian clichéd rhetoric. He called me out for “ad hominem” attacking him. I attacked his pansy arguments. There’s a big difference.

But the shit hit fans when I pressed him and I found out that Tetzlaff had not even read the book by his own admission. He had only flipped through the book’s pages, which turned me on to the idea to actually have him read the book that he had so many problems with. So now I’m reading a couple books that he recommended and he’s now on chapter six of “The Greatest Show on Earth.”

After it’s all said and done, I’m down about the whole exchange. Seriously. It just shows that Atheists aren’t ready to have this conversation. I mean, atheism has been around much longer than Christianity. Christianity has only been around for about 2,000 years. Atheism has been around since, well, the beginning of time. I guess we should be the bigger people and be more accommodating to the newcomers.

The main blogger of the site, Justin, is actually not that bad of a guy. Petursey might disagree with you, but for the most part, he’s got good intentions.

Justin is probably one of the first Christians that I’ve met online who say atheists actually do have morals. But he says we are inconsistent. Go read that link. He calls me out directly. I’m famous!

I don’t know what atheist inconsistency means. I guess it means that one day I believe that murder is bad, and the next day, I think it’d be okay.

I’m pretty sure Christians are inconsistent too. I mean, Christians advocating martial arts to increase male attendance? That seems a little inconsistent with Jesus’ message, right? Or maybe I missed the something. Oh, no I didn’t, I almost overlooked what God or Jesus said, here here here here here here here here here here here here here here and here. And don’t forget about all of this consistent violence.

Oooo, ooo, don’t forget, the Gospel of Mark tells us that Jesus spoke in parables to assure that the majority of listeners wouldn’t understand, and therefore go to hell — or not be forgiven (Mark 4: 11:12)

Hallelujah! The word of the Lord is consistent with its message.

Justin, you got me this time! But land wars usually take more than a day.

So yeah, I guess Christianity is consistent. Well, kudos for them.

I’ll stick with us inconsistent folks.

After a much needed release from this wily exchange of superfluism (poetic license engaged), I stopped The Whore of the Earth’s blog and she reminded me (just me) of Patton Oswald’s hilarious sky cake bit.

17 Responses to In light of our recent effort at an organized trolling war, The Whore of all the Earth reminded me to laugh

  1. petursey says:

    Well battle is continuing…. Justin has got into a righteous ire and won’t answer my questions anymore.

    I asked 3 direct questions…and got one evasive answerette that sort of referred to jesus as god and brought the old testament and then quoted romans at me…. including the lovely romans 1.32 where the lovely saintly misogynist paul says
    “Who knowing the judgment of God, that they which commit such things are worthy of death, not only do the same, but have pleasure in them that do them.”
    Which the skeptics annotated bible says means “Homosexuals (those “without natural affection”) and their supporters (those “that have pleasure in them”) are “worthy of death.”
    What a lovely peaceful loving lot these Christians are !!!

    If you read the tone of the posts over there….they really really really really loathe and dislike the idea that we could dare to think differently. Their arrogance, condescension and unwavering inability to answer questions directly just proves what an utter farce their version of religion is.

    Those lot would probably crucify the saintly jebus if he ever came back… in fact they’re sharpening the nails as we speak !!!

  2. petursey says:

    Just visited back…the link is now closed…they cannot take any disagreement with their ju-ju nonsense at all…and it reminds me of a certain other creationist site that doesn’t allow comment either !!

    The questions I asked…and that I recommend everyone ask of their fundie friends and family are:-

    Q1. Where exactly does Jesus say in the New Testament that Gay/Lesbian/Transgendered people are sinners ??
    Q2. Where does he say that LGBT people are “wrong”, “unnatural” “in bondage”, “morally incompatible with nature” and all those insults that are hurled at us by believers ??
    Q3. Where does Jesus say that non-believers are to be treated with contempt and derision ?

    Three simple questions and the nasty Justin get’s his knickers (or maybe he wears magic underpants like Mormons ??) in a right twist and through a major girly hissy fit !!!

  3. Justin says:

    Wow, I’m a good guy for the most part.

    Thank you … I think. :)

    Petursey,

    I answered your questions. I’m sorry you didn’t like the answers. You can call them evasive. I think they are clear. I stand by my three responses to your three questions. I closed comments not because of you but because I want to make clear that I’m not interested in a land war. In fact, I put the explanation in my post. Again repeat, I’m not against comments, I just don’t want a land war. I hope you see the difference.

    Please feel free to comment. :)

    And I’m not about to start a land war over here. That wouldn’t be too neighborly of me. :)

  4. cafewitteveen says:

    Don’t forget about dispensationalism.

    That should clear it all up.

    Oh, and who takes a “land war” seriously on the internet?

  5. Justin says:

    I haven’t. A topic for future post. :)

  6. Justin says:

    Oh, and who takes a “land war” seriously on the internet?.

    Easy. The first guy who responded to your blog. :)

  7. cafewitteveen says:

    I have been referring to the Princess Bride battle of the wits.

    Witteveens are so witty.

    “Never get into a land war with Asia” It doesn’t make any sense, not in this instance and certainly not on the internet. It was a joke. I honk a lot. Honk is the sound I make after I’ve joked with you. Kind of like a clown when it says something and pinches his nose.

  8. Justin says:

    “Never get into a land war with Asia”

    It’s too bad Napoleon never heard of that one.

  9. Justin says:

    Hitler on the other hand, I’m glad he never heard of it.

    http://www.ehow.com/how_2066807_win-land-war-russia.html

    For your reading pleasure, here’s six easy steps on how to win a land war in Asia. :)

    • cafewitteveen says:

      Oh, believe me Justin, I wanted to sacrifice animals. But my parents only let me sacrifice and eat the animals that made it on our dinner plates.

      Sacrificial burgers were a mainstay in our home.

      Seriously?

      We didn’t sacrifice animals, because Christian theology teaches that Christ was the ultimate sacrifice that took the place of all sacrifice.

      There was no questioning that kind of teaching, so I took that to be true.

      As for absolute morality, you forget, Justin, I was one of your kind. “Do you believe in absolute morality” is a question that you were taught to ask people like me … which is why you asked it.

      It deserves no response, because it doesn’t make sense outside of your “worldview.”

      Good luck with that line of thinking. It’s not as cool as you’d like to think.

      • Justin says:

        It deserves no response, because it doesn’t make sense outside of your “worldview.”

        You SAY that … but you think differently. And that’s why you’re inconsistent.

        The best test to determine whether or not you really believe that absolute moral laws exist to make a choice:

        (1) Molesting children is absolutely wrong at all times in all places.
        (2) Molesting children could be right.

        If go with number 1, then you believe absolute moral laws exist.
        If you go with number 2, well you get the picture.

      • cafewitteveen says:

        Boy, you sure are good at turning tables. Congratulations. I didn’t make up the term. It’s complete nonsense founded only in YOUR “worldview.”

        I’ll go with the stereotype: If I were hiding Jews in Nazi Germany, and a Nazi squadron came to my door and asked me if I were hiding Jews, I would say no.

        That would make me a liar.

        If my wife walked in the room and asked me if her jeans made her look fat, I would say, “no.” If they did in fact make her look fat, I would be a liar.

        Hurting children has absolutely no place in the world. If that makes me a moral relativist, because I lie in some instances and absolutely detest hurting children to an absolute morality, then that’s fine.

        You have to have something better you can base your spiritual arguments upon.

        Best,

        Jeremy

  10. Justin says:

    And by the way, I’d love to hear your response about whether to believe in absolute morality.

  11. Justin says:

    Hurting children has absolutely no place in the world. If that makes me a moral relativist, because I lie in some instances and absolutely detest hurting children to an absolute morality, then that’s fine.

    Have you ever heard of the historical account of Rahab the harlot? :)

    In any case, I’ll put you down with #1.

    Mind you, I’m not arguing the extent of absolute morals laws, I just picked one.

    Killing for example.

    The Bible says “thou shalt not murder.”

    But it does not speak ill of killing in self-defense or for one’s country. This DOES NOT mean the Bible holds to relative morality.

  12. Justin says:

    Its not okay to murder one day, and then not okay the next, for instance.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 694 other followers

