Greetings from my phone

My Internet service is changing today. The phone company said there would be no lapse in service. Wouldn’t you know that they were kidding. They wanted me to be disappointed.

I’m leaving this afternoon on Amtrak for Grand Rapids, MI. Yesterday over email with Steve P, I told him I was going because of my paternal grandmother’s 90th anniversary.

His response was, “wow, how the hell old is she?”

D’oh! It’s her birthday.

My brother and his daughter are coming up. My mom, dad and sister are too. Tina’s got some work tomorrow she needs to do. So I’m training there.

I’m kind of excited. I will take lots of photos.

Since I won’t be too available today, please throw in what you’re up to this weekend in the comments. If you see something religious, science, photography or humor related, drop it in there too.

You guys can be me today!

Honk

9 Responses to Greetings from my phone

  1. Jude says:

    In other news, recently-discovered scrolls near the ancient site of Capernaum depict an earlier, less-successful trial run of the Sermon on the Mount that was suppressed in the “official” release of the gospels:

    Jesus: For verily I say unto you, Till heaven and earth pass, one jot or one tittle shall in no wise pass from the law, till all be fulfilled.

    Simon: Hurrh, hurrh, hurrh…

    Jesus: Whosoever therefore shall break… what is it, Simon?

    Simon: You said “tittle”. Hurrh, hurrh…

    Jesus: Oh, for my sake! You do know what a tittle is, don’t you?

    Simon: Hey everybody! Jesus said tittle!

    The Multitudes: Lambda omicron lambda!

    Mary: Pwned!

    Jesus: Aw, Mom!!!

  2. Glock21 says:

    My weekend plans seem to be going down hill quick. The fun part is working on my research project on religion in China which is about 2 parts frustrating for each part fascinating.

    The other more unfortunate aspect is I appear to have jumped head first into another Pullman WA thread, being told that atheists couldn’t possibly have any basis for moral or ethical concerns with usual dismissive claptrap they’ve been spoonfed about atheists. Nothing new unfortunately though.

    It’s the same silliness about being morally indistinguishable from hyenas or that use of religious philosophers in addition to secular philosophers to inform our thinking means the only real morality is stolen from religion and we’re really secretly Daoists and Christians for doing so somehow. Somehow all of the secular philosophy that has helped lead them to a moderate (by historical standards) stance on morality doesn’t mean the opposite. Funny how that works.

    That should all keep me plenty busy.

    • Justin says:

      “atheists couldn’t possibly have any basis for moral or ethical concerns with usual dismissive claptrap they’ve been spoonfed about atheists.

      That’s a gross characterization of my argument. I’m arguing that atheists do have a basis for subjective morality, but do not have any basis for objective morality. :D

      • Glock21 says:

        Considering your opinion of subjective morality, given your previous statements, this may be a distinction without a difference.

      • cafewitteveen says:

        I’ll go check out that thread. I’m on an Amtrak train and my connection is spotty. I’d ask justin to explain his objective morality, but there’s no reason to play that old track again.

      • cafewitteveen says:

        Some men tackle a weekend project that seems almost doable. That discussion is a weekend project of another kind.

        It’s nice to see old Tetzlaffput down The Greatest Show long enough to type out some sentences with verbs, nouns, various particles of speech and punctuation.

        Sharp tools are not found in that shed.

        You’re the equivilent of an atheist saint. I’m proud to be on the and team.

    • Justin says:

      Glock:
      The other more unfortunate aspect is I appear to have jumped head first into another Pullman WA thread

      Actually, more like sucked into an argument. They don’t call me Justin of Oreck for nothing. :D

  3. Xina says:

    I went to my paternal grandmother’s 90th birthday party a couple of weeks ago! I hope your grandmother’s party is as fun as my grandmother’s was. Have a safe trip!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 696 other followers

