Deleting music for spiritual cleansing

In case you’re curious, 2 Corinthians 7:1 says, “Therefore, since we have these promises, dear friends, let us purify ourselves from everything that contaminates body and spirit, perfecting holiness out of reverence for God.”

If that’s the commandment, why do people keep their bee eye bee elle eees?

Via

2 Responses to Deleting music for spiritual cleansing

  1. Luis V. says:

    One of the questions that started me on the path of de-conversion was, whether or not god was the master of minutiae as I was taught. Did god really have a checklist where he/she kept track of all this mundane crap? Did you go to church EVERY Sunday? Did her shirt show off too much cleavage, and if so, what is the proper length for a neckline? How many times could you swear before you were damned to hell? Once, twice, ten times what is the limit? Is god plugged into my walkman!?!? Death metal, industrial punk, gangsta rap, Xtian “rock”, did it really matter? Speaking of Xtian rock, how many times should Jesus be included in the lyrics in order for a song to classify as Xtian music? But I digress. The point is, didn’t god have far more important things to concern himself with than worry about if I thought the girl in front of me at the deli looks smoking hot! Oh crap, there goes an impure thought!
    It’s all very silly once you start to think about it. These are all worldly considerations, things only a bored species concerns itself with. This naughty/nice checklist is so juvenile and purely a human construct and once you understand that, you begin to notice how much of a human invention religion and god really are. I am just a tiny speck in the universe and I really couldn’t care less what type of music my neighbors listen to, you think an all powerful being would care? Also, if god can’t be bothered to stop an airplane from crashing into a building and killing thousands, do you really think he’s gonna give a flying fkuc what you play on your iPod?
    Get over yourself lady!

  2. Xina says:

    I remember discussing with my mom one time when I was in my early 20s all of the things that you couldn’t do or had to give up in order to be a good Christian. Most of these things didn’t bother me…I didn’t drink alcohol at the time, I didn’t do drugs, I had quit smoking and wasn’t in a sexual relationship of any kind. I told her that I didn’t think that I would EVER be able to give up secular music though. I just loved it way too much. U2, Dave Matthews, Sarah McLaughlin, Radiohead…these were my favorites at the time and I told her that there was no way anyone would ever convince me to never listen to them again. She raised her eyebrows at me and told me that maybe I needed to “check my salvation”. That was one of her favorite things to tell me…”You’d better check your salvation.” Just typing it makes me angry at her.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 694 other followers

