In North Carolina, safe and sound

Tina and I made it last night at around 9:30. It took us almost 12.5 hours to drive. Driving through the  West Virginia turnpike was a little hairy. There was snow coming down, and the twists and turns were daunting after 9 hours of driving.

During the drive, my dad and my brother called me about three times a piece. I turned to Tina at one point and I said, “Man, it really feels like they want us to be there. Dad has a welcoming calm in his voice. I like that.”

My parents were waiting for us when we got in. When I talked to my mom the other day, she said, “We’ll have a beer here when you get in.”

When I talked to my dad when we were about 20 minutes away, I said, “Man, I’m looking forward to that beer.”

“We don’t have any beer here,” he said.

“Oh okay.”

Pause.

“Well, I’ll pick some up on the way in.”

We hung up. No big deal.

Two minutes later, my phone rang. It was my dad. “Hey, Jer, what kind of beer do you want? I’m in the car. I’ll go get some.”

How cool is that?

This morning I chucked it with Talulah for about an hour. Then I ran mom and dad’s little dogs for about 10 minutes. They are little barky dogs, and I thought they could use a little heart rate increase.

I’m showered, and we’re going to church at 1 p.m. at my brother’s church. We’re going to celebrate with them today. We’ll open presents and all that. On Christmas we’ll take it easy. I’m going to make scallops and butternut squash tomorrow for dinner since it’s only going to be my mom, dad, sister, Tina, my gramps and me.

Happy Merry Christmas Eve. I wish you the very best. Thanks for checking in.

Let me know what you’re up to in the comments. I’d love to know.

6 thoughts on “In North Carolina, safe and sound

  1. Right now? I’m baking a cranberry upside-down cake.

    I discovered my camera has a primitive movie feature! Here’s a video I took of Sam and Anna playing in the backyard:

    Look how Anna moves – not bad for an 8-year-old middle-aged women, eh? :D

    Mary Crispness!

    1. Arrgh – just after I hit submit, I noticed that I misspelled “woman” as “women” – but couldn’t stop the post going through.

  2. Becky and I just got back from lunch with her family. We’ll have a small dinner tonight. Tomorrow will be a day of relaxing, exchanging silliy stocking stuffers (no big gifts) and having grilled rib roast!
    Have a great holiday! :D

  3. I’m sitting here with my sister and her family watching the kids open presents. Everyone’s coming down tomorrow for a Tex Mex feast. Glad that you guys made it safely.

  4. Thanks for all the updates. I loved the video, Jude. I like how Anna does her little turn. You should consider getting her ballet lessons.

Leave a Reply

