Quote of the day

The quote of the day is not from John Shore (although I wish it were!), but from a newbie named Random Ntrygg.

In response to my “Teaching the Controversy” post, Random writes (emphasis mine):

interesting how the godbots go after biology, because they can get an ick factor – humans as monkeys – but they do not go after anthropology, which very clearly demonstrates that religions are a product of culture and a method of establishing social groups across cultures if they are successful enough – but over time, religions rise and fade out and the religions of today are the myths of tomorrow

2 Responses to Quote of the day

  1. George W. says:

    What a neat comment.
    This “Random Ntrygg” has been posting at more than one site I frequent lately. I visited her site and found it interesting, and she is Canadian to boot! I think if I am not mistaken that this is the third site on my daily rounds where I have found her lately, I wonder where she came from?
    My guess is she stumbled upon Oscar, but I might be wrong….
    Anyhow, she is always good for a well thought out comment so I’ll welcome her aboard.
    Welcome Nina!

  2. Jeremy says:

    Yeah, that last sentence really struck me.

    I’ve been reading about the Cambrian explosion, and how Christians like to use that as “evidence” of creation, when it’s really just a misunderstanding of the term. It’s an explosion over eons of time.

    This may not be a clear thought, but in terms of time it takes a religion to become myth … Christianity, Islam, Judaism isn’t exploding off the scene … but one day humanity will look back and wonder why it was so quick to leave the scene.

    In the future, I hope it looks like an explosion. But right now, that explosion is TAKING FOREVER!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 698 other followers

