My dad’s stomach can kick your dad’s stomach’s ass

For the last three weeks, my dad has been traveling in China. He’s working on a job to decorate high-end Chinese villas and homes. I was this close to going with him just to get a chance to shoot in China for a couple weeks.

But Tina and I have been too busy to entertain the thought.

One of his email updates was the above photo. He wrote:

The dish shown are sliced pigs ears. Reminded me of eating these when we were little kids in Holland.  We ate them cooked in Pea soup. I loved these, ate almost all of them.
My dad has a stomach of steel, and it shows. He could probably withstand most bacteria that would kill the rest of us. He rarely gets sick on his Asian travels. Unlike yours truly who spends nights in hospitals after eating a grub or two.
My dad is having a blast, though, and I think he may be honored with some sort of Chinese diplomatic immunity soon. He wrote in the same email:
The Chinese think I am awesome. I think they will make me an honorary Chinese.
Or maybe they think I am crazy … it’s hard to understand them when they speak Chinese.

You may see where my sense of humor comes from.

I’m deliberating over what to do with Tina. She has a special birthday coming up … one of those milestone birthdays. She wants me to take her somewhere nice for her birthday. We’re debating Europe or Asia. Where do you think I should take her?

 

6 thoughts on “My dad’s stomach can kick your dad’s stomach’s ass

  1. Pigs ears? Seriously?

    That’s just gross! : P

    But as to where you should go for T’s er… 29th birthday…

    Amsterdam! Where else? : )

    Actually Belgium’s pretty sweet too, best beer on the planet.

  2. Thanks for the recommends, guys.

    I think we’re going to shop for an astronaut suit, so I can take her to the moon.

    Right now we’re wavering between a multistop Euro bounce or a raucous trip to Bali …

    Tina wants warm.

Leave a Reply

