Blog Maintenance, death, loss and fanboy obsession

There are a couple of items that I need to address, at least for myself.

A few of you let me know about troll John A Davison’s passing. He went quiet a while ago when he and some other guy jumped in on this conversation. And I wrote a post after receiving email from him here.

George said he got in a last word with him, and I’m wondering which response that was exactly.

Davison never returned after I blasted him on the Skatje post, in which I had reached the end of my rope and dug deep to verbally bitch slap him like an MMA superstar.

Whatever the case, John A. Davison is dead now. And since George got in the last word, it’s all his fault.

Honk.

I’m not sure what that means to me. I didn’t ask him to stop by and I didn’t care that he was here. I didn’t care when he left.

I have, however, read back over my bitch slap a few times wondering how it was I came up with some of that stuff.

Rest assured, we’ll miss you MCA

Speaking of death, Beastie Boy Adam Yauch aka MCA passed away recently, too. And if you know me well, Beastie Boys are one of my favorite bands of all time. My glory days concert boasting rights seem to always go back to seeing the Beastie Boys at Lollapalooza back in the 90s with regular-reading Aaron, my brother Jon and my then girlfriend Wendy.

It was the best concert I’ve ever been to. I couldn’t stop moving the entire time they were on stage. We had great seats.

In fact, Aaron, Wendy and I were standing on the arms of our chairs which were probably 30 feet from the stage. My brother on the other hand decided to go into the pit as close as he could get. I remember watching him head for the crowd and never seeing him again until after they finished.

MCA was my favorite Beastie Boy, and when the announcement came that he died, I backburned it. I don’t know what to do with it. I don’t know how to memorialize him. We weren’t friends. And his life was never more than songs and photos, which I still have.

So in a way, I haven’t lost the guy. I wasn’t a huge fan of their recent work. It is a loss, though, so I have to figure out how I’m going to deal with that.

If you’re wondering what my favorite Beastie Boy track is, it’s “Get it together” from Ill Communication.

I think one of the reasons why MCA was my favorite Beastie was because he was the one that played bass on their instrumental tracks.

Flea-bitten flea bag

That brings me to my next fanboy obsession that will be coming to a major head at the end of the month.

One of my other all-time favorite bands is the Red Hot Chili Peppers. Back in high school, I played bass in a band called Creamy Velour with my brother and two other guys. When I was learning to play, I would listen to RHCP bass playing maniac Flea over and over wanting to slap and pop like him. I wanted to run around the fret board like him.

I wanted to whip my head around like him.

I loved watching Point Break because of Flea and Anthony Kiedis’ cameos.

That’s all to say that my photography partner Bill had an unfortunate turn of events that is preventing him from shooting RHCP at the end of the month. So when he learned that he had conflict a few weeks ago, he mentioned he might have to give up the show, and asked if I might want it.

You should have seen the superman strength it took to hold back utter excitement.

Long story short, I got the gig. I’ll be shooting one of my favorite bands of all time. And I just can’t fucking wait.

The other great thing about it is that I told Bill that I was going to pray to Allah that I would get the gig.

So the cosmic battle is finally come to a truce. Allah is the living god who answers prayers.

2 Responses to Blog Maintenance, death, loss and fanboy obsession

  1. billwhitmire says:

    Damn, Allah loves you!

  2. George W. says:

    My comment to you on Facebook about getting the last word was about this comment and my subsequent reply. I kind of feel bad about it.

    Not too bad, mind you.
    Got that?
    Write it down.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 694 other followers

