They told me it was a good thing: I’m juicing.


juicer

Back in November/December, my brother-in-law Michael told us that he was reading a book about juicing.

He loaned Tina the book over the holiday. It’s called, “Green for Life” by Victoria Boutenko. 

From Michael’s reading and explanations in casual conversation, it made it sound like Juicing cured everything from cancer to shin splints.

I exaggerate this a little. But from what I remember, Michael basically made it sound like there’s a LOT of information that the world isn’t getting about the magical wonder treatments known as juicing.

I’m a skeptic of everything. At least  I think I am. I think some people might say differently. As if I’ve concluded there’s no god, or concluded evolution is true, that global warming is a truth or that Santa is not real.

Thing is: I’m not convinced. I’m persuaded by certain information to lean a certain way. That’s it. No more, no less. My beef with anyone is that they aren’t able to at least admit their perspective might be wrong.

Regardless, when Michael was telling me things about juicing that seemed too good to be true, I yawned and rolled my eyes.

After Tina read the book, she asked if we could get a $100 NutriBullet from Target just after the new year. Juicers can cost upwards of $1000. And the draw to the Nutribullet was that it was inexpensive, easy to clean and easy to use.

So I agreed.

So we’ve been juicing since around January 5.

I essentially agreed to buy it and do it with Tina, because (1) I’m a follower and (2) I don’t believe I eat the right amount of fruits and veggies per day. And even if juicing doesn’t really cure cancer or dispel 9/11 conspiracy theories, it would definitely give me the excuse to consume more fruits and veggies.

I haven’t read a damn thing on Juicing. And maybe I will sooner than later. I can’t seem to find anything wrong with consuming more fresh produce and vegetables, with flax seed and some water. It’s amazing.

I usually put in the following ingredients (maybe not in every juice):

  • A handful of greens (kale, spinach, broccoli, arugula, etc.)
  • Mixed berries (grapes, strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, blackberries, dingle berries, etc.)
  • Pomegranates and Cucumbers
  • Citrus (oranges, lemons, limes)
  • Bananas, apples, pears, mangoes, etc.
  • Beets, radishes, carrots, jalapeños, avocados, etc.
  • Greek yogurt and flax seed

But I can say that I feel good and refreshed after a Juice. Since, Thanksgiving, Tina and I have upped our workout routines. We workout more per week, a routine that has already provided more energy and strength.

My poops have been amazing. Before Juicing, I had a loose or diarrhea stool at least once or twice a week. Eureka! I’ve had one once since juicing.

I’ve cut down on alcohol and caffeine consumption as well. I purposely stopped taking melatonin at night, and I’m trying to read more to relax instead of working on my computer or watching TV until bed time.

See. Juicing is magic.

Well, it may not be magic, but it’s definitely helping to push me in a healthy direction.

Do you juice? What do you think? What’s your favorite recipes?

juiceme-2

jucier-2

juiceme-1

 

 

8 Responses to They told me it was a good thing: I’m juicing.

  1. Xina says:

    I’m going to give you my honest opinion about something I read here even though I’m a little scared it’ll piss you off…

    Tina “asked” if she could go buy something from Target and you “agreed”. As though she has to ask your permission? Certainly this isn’t the case. I don’t see you as the “my wife has to ask permission to spend money” kind of guy. Care to either explain or tell me to fuck off and mind my own business? ;)

    • Jeremy says:

      WHAT!?!

      FUCKIN AAA!!!

      No, seriously.

      I’m glad you responded, and I’m glad you did it publicly.

      If anything, I can see how your reading made me out to be some Victorian-era asshole. Or just a brazen butthole.

      Sounding like an over-bearing husband whose wife has no financial power was not my intention. That whole part of the story was a lot longer, and it was over simplified.

      And like Tina said below, we have shared income and there’s a common theme of, “Hey, I’m buying a lens cap for the Canon, that okay?” Or, “I’m picking up a new skirt, cool?” and “I’m paying the mortgage and assessments, okay?”

      We run everything past each other. Mind you, day to day, our proximity to each other for 95% of any 24-hour period, we are within arms reach of the other person.

      If anything, the intent above was to show that there were more than one option, and that the option she landed on was the nutribullet, as opposed to a slew of other options in that price range and also opposed to the much more high-priced options, which we decided against, because the nutribullet doesn’t filter out seeds which Tina researched to be a good thing.

      I hope I’ve demonstrated in this presentation that I’m not a complete asshole all the time.

      • Xina says:

        Aww, I feel bad that you both responded as though you had to defend anything. I think one thing you’ve demonstrated in this blog is that you have a huge amount of respect and love for Tina. That’s why I thought the way you chose to word that was strange. But thanks to both of you for your explanations.

        As though what you guys choose to do in your marriage is ANY of my business.

        I know that for me and T, figuring out what’s best for us in terms of how to handle our money has taken a few years.

      • Jeremy says:

        I don’t think it was a bad observation, and I wasn’t being sarcastic when you called me out for clarification.

        You did ask for an explanation. If it came off defensive, I guess that’s what’s to be expected.

        If anything, it struck a nerve/chord because Tina prides herself on her independence, and since her parents were divorced, she’s had a difficult time with any man reigning over her.

        Becoming a team hasn’t been easy. And finding her own place in our company wasn’t easy, either. I haven’t had a paycheck in 12+ years. Tina likes to have her own spending money, and doesn’t run every little purchase by me.

        Blah blah blah. You get the drift.

        Cheers, X. Have a great weekend.

  2. tina louise says:

    Hi Xina –
    I’ll jump in. I don’t think Jeremy intended that I needed to ask permission to buy the nutribullet. Although since we have a combined income and don’t each draw a salary per se, we find it as a courtesy to ask/discuss certain purchases with each other. I definitely had my mind made and since it’s kind of a lifestyle change, I wanted him to be on board not only with the purchase but with juicing every day too.

    –TL

  3. Xina says:

    You didn’t sound defensive at all! You guys have a good weekend too!

  4. Mary says:

    Umm, it sounds to me like you are making smoothies, not juicing. Smoothies are MUCH better for you, because you actually eat (drink) the fiber and protein from the fruits and veggies. Plus you are adding healthy seeds, nuts, etc. that are not normally added when juicing. Smoothies are a great way to get more whole natural foods into your diet. Just don’t fall victim to adding a bunch of protein powders, juices, sugars, vitamins, etc. that get you away from eating whole foods.

    Juicing simply takes the juice out of things…giving you lots of sugars without the fiber to balance them out. Smoothies rock, by the way! Enjoy!!!

    • Jeremy says:

      Hey Mary!

      I’m a victim of believing what I’ve been told. I’ve been calling them shakes, personally, because it doesn’t seem very juice like.

      And yes, you’re right. We’re smoothie-ing. Maybe if someone else comments, I’ll revise the original post.

      As it is, I didn’t realize anyone has been checking in here, and suddenly I’ve had several comments in the matter of 48 hours.

      I guess I need to blog more personal stuff. :)

      Thanks for the correction!

      JW

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 694 other followers

