My phone sends its love again today


I made it to Grand Rapids via Amtrak in some pretty thick rain last night. My cousin Todd picked me up from the train station and brought me back to his place for the night.

Todd and his wife Brenda are good people. Of all my cousins, I’m probably a little closer to him, because for a couple years his family lived down the block from us in North Carolina. I was in 1st and 2nd grade at the time. But all the rest of my cousins lived in Michigan. That neighborly connection made a world of difference.

I don’t know any of the Witteveens or my mom’s family extremely well. My family didnt get back up to michigan all that much. But I know them a little better than my brother and sister. Living three hours away in Chicago, either family visits me or I visit them.

My brother said he can’t remember the last time he’s seen some of the Grand Rapids crew.

I’m kicking myself for not writing down some Todd stories last night on the train. I have plenty. When I was in 1st grade, he was a high school senior with a raging teenager tendencies that scared the shit out of my mom.

I’ll save that for a day when I’m not typing on my iPhone.

I’m going to go for a run this morning. I’ll shower and meet my family later on. One thing on the agenda is going to Marge’s Donut Den. I’m hoping to stay with my brother and his daughter at another uncle and aunt’s house tonight. If not, I’ll happily stay here again.

Here’s a picture of my view out the window this morning and a photo of a car that I saw the other day. Please discuss in great philosophical detail.