Iron Man video clips round up

April 28, 2010

Here’s a hella fun clip from the movie. The other two are just damn funny.

Dirty Dancing mashup

Bridget Jones Diary mash down


Splatter-pants Geek: “This is the greatest carwash of all time” … he needs more washed than his “car”

April 28, 2010

Somewhere in L.A. … far far away … there is a carwash where women dress as Leia in slave costumes to wash your car.

POV inside my car as the Slave Leias soap up… everything. Words cannot describe, so here’s video.

If you’re a Star Wars geek, you’re welcome.

Via toplessrobot]


Three hundred and forty four wonderful square feet

April 28, 2010

From YouTube:

JellyWoo1014 — April 22, 2010 — In Hong Kong, because of the space, apartments are small and expensive. Gary Chang, an architect, decided to design a 344 sq. ft. apartment to be able to change into 24 different designs, all by just sliding panels and walls. He calls this the “Domestic Transformer.”

Visit us at http://jellywoo.com/ for more news related to tech and just life in general.


If Clusterflock were a woman, I would have sex dreams about her

April 28, 2010

Clusterflock is one of my favorite blogs in the whole (world-wide) world of webiness. Whoever the flock posts their content is amazing. I wish I were Clusterflock.

This was an awesome find:

Steven Monteau’s Battlefield Pinhole Camera

The battlefield is a revolutionary pinhole camera that simultaneously uses 3 rolls of 35mm film to capture an image split across all three rolls.


NEW Hole video | Skinny Little Bitch

April 28, 2010

NobodysDaughterTV — April 27, 2010 — Hole – Skinny Little Bitch (The Least Expensive Courtney Video Ever)


Do you remember where you were March 8, 2004? I have a picture of you right here.

April 28, 2010

Well, maybe not you in particular … but it’s a picture of where you are in the universe from the POV of another planet.

click to enlarge

Above: the first image ever taken of Earth from the surface of a planet beyond the Moon. Photographed by the Mars Exploration Rover Spirit one hour before sunrise on the 63rd Martian day, or sol, of its mission. (March 8, 2004)

[Via Boing boing]


This is not the mockumentary you thought it was going to be

April 28, 2010

[Via The Daily What]


Noah’s Ark found! Phew, now everyone can … RUN FOR THEIR LIVES!

April 28, 2010

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Over at Pharyngula, PZ Myers has posted a couple times about evangelicals boasting they found Noah’s Ark. Finding Noah’s Ark seems to be the raison d’etre for many believers. PZ Myers is concentrating on falsifying the story based on the woo that has come before and the woo that is being presented to believers now.

I’m concentrating on what it would mean for believers if in fact they found the ark.

Even if you don’t think that Noah’s ark is a story copied from other traditions, it’s a story that paints god as a ruthless beast. Even if you don’t wonder how nations in Egypt and Mesopotamia stayed in tact during a 12,000 foot deep flood 2,800 years ago, despite the bible’s claim it was worldwide, it’s a story that must be accepted on faith. And even more outlandish is the idea that one man’s family carried two (or seven depending on the verse you read) of every animal on a boat for 40 days and 40 nights.

More below the fold:

Read the rest of this entry »


Hitchens re-reads “Animal Farm,” maybe I should too

April 28, 2010

Donkey and pigs from the 1954 film "Animal Farm." Photograph: Halas & Batchelor

Over at Vanity Fair, ol’ Christopher Hitchens re-read “Animal Farm” and re-viewed it. Here’s a link. It’s a very good review. For instance this bit of interesting information:

In the Islamic world, many countries continue to ban “Animal Farm,” ostensibly because of its emphasis on pigs. Clearly this can not be the whole reason – if only because the porcine faction is rendered in such an unfavourable light – and under the theocratic despotism of Iran it is forbidden for reasons having to do with its message of “revolution betrayed”.

I read “Animal Farm” back in eighth grade. That was 20 years ago. Somehow, I remember almost all the books and poems I had to read in middle school and high school. In public, I often make references to literature. I was an “English” major, you know (Shut up, Petursey).

Not that any of my readers wouldn’t get a reference to literature, but I’m surprised how many people will stare blankly after I say, “Some animals are more equal than others.”

I think about literature I read in my youth a lot. I remember how I didn’t get it. I hated it more often than not, but for the sake of cramming for tests, I was somehow able to retain a lot of information.

I wish I would have read more, and I often blamed my disinterest on religion … and this was before I lost my religion. Religion kept my teachers from telling us too much about the authors who wrote the works. Maybe, just maybe, if I had known more secular rationale for why authors were exciting or popular, maybe, just maybe I would have been more interested in picking up books on my own.

What do you think? What do you remember about reading as a youth?


A multitude of Louis Vuitton models photographed sans makeup

April 28, 2010

I used “multitude” in an headline.

I thought this image was interesting and I re-cropped it to show up better here. It’s a bunch of model mug shots from Louis Vuitton. I could look at this all damn day.

This is what people look like … and some of these people look more like aliens than models. But they’re all gorgeous. If you don’t agree, you’re not looking hard enough.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 694 other followers