And on that note, let’s let Elmo finish the day

January 26, 2011

At the “Being Elmo: A Puppeteers Journey” premiere at Sundance, Kevin Clash and Elmo have a special present for a pregnant woman in the audience. http://www.BeingElmo.com


Radio host voice: Michelle Bachmann’s Top 31 Count Down!

January 26, 2011

Buzzfeed granted Michelle Bachmann her own 31 top quotations countdown and you should read it.

Among the list of Michelle Bachmann’s most excellent quotes:

[Pelosi] is committed to her global warming fanaticism to the point where she has said she has even said she is trying to save the planet. We all know that someone did that 2,000 years ago.

Or this mega gem:

15. ”And what a bizarre time we’re in, when a judge will say to little children that you can’t say the pledge of allegiance, but you must learn that homosexuality is normal and you should try it.”


Old News: Woman Hanged, Killed Dog For Chewing Bible

January 26, 2011

This is relatively old news about the South Carolina woman who killed a dog for chewing a bible. The story is worth reposting though, because it involves a pit bull.

Ain’t nobody touch a pit bull and get away with it!

The woman, Miriam Smith reads her bible on her porch every Saturday, rain or shine, cold her hot, hell or high water.

“Whatsa matter, Miriam, no porch in prison to read your bible?”

I’m going to start calling Talulah “Devil Dog”.

 

SPARTANBURG COUNTY, S.C. — A 65-year-old woman is accused of killing her nephew’s dog because it had chewed on her Bible, and she said it was a “devil dog.”

Deputies said that Andy Fowler called them last Tuesday to report that his aunt had hung his dog. Fowler said his aunt, Miriam Smith, admitted hanging his 1-year-old pit bull, Diamond.

Officers found the partially burned body of the dog under a pile of grass with an orange electrical cord around its neck at the home on John Worthy Road in Pacolet.
Read more

 

Via


Wow! Photos taken at night will beguile you

January 26, 2011

Reading Gizmodo this morning, I saw a link for 175 photos taken at night. Shooting in darkness isn’t easy, and I admire several of these shots.

Here are a couple that stood out.

I live in the midwest and it just so happens that, on the night of the full moon, January 20, we received a very heavy snow storm(9in where I live). The most unfortunate part about this snow storm was that you could not see the full moon at all and it really didn’t help that the wind chill was 0 degrees, there was snow flying all over the place, and my equipment was getting all wet. So I decided to take this shot from my back door, I had my lens hood on and that was filled with snow even from inside the house. Overall it was a terrible night(based on the complaining I did in the previous sentences) and this was the best that I could get while being snowed in and having limited resources. Canon EOS 20D, Canon 28-70L, ISO 200, 55mm, 25.0s, f/6.3.
-George Westlake


So I live in Puerto Rico, where there is beach everywhere. I was at a friends house and i explained the challenge to them they liked it so bad that we all went to the beach to take some pics, I Had my Canon T2i, with a 24-70 F2.8, and a Slik Tripod, the settings were Iso 400, F 8, Shutter 302 secs. and at 24mm. I did several pictures of 8 guys playing soccer, standing there for 5 mins!! but this one was the more sharp! It was really Fun.
-Juan Lizarzaburo


Search Engine Terms of the Morning

January 26, 2011

i hate it when i am singing to a song and the artist gets the words wrong

If writing the above into google is all it takes to find this blog, I must be doing something right.

Honk.

*Update:*

The second best Search Engine Terms this morning:

god loves the steelers

To which I say, no he doesn’t. He hates them. He hates American football, and he visited me last night in a dream to tell me that.


This cartoon shows what Glenn Beck believes

January 26, 2011

Glenn Beck is a moron Mormon. The video below is a teaching tool that Mormons showed their youth for bible study and learning. It offers all kinds of great information about the origins of Mormonism, including where black people come from.

How in Sanity’s name could you take Beck seriously after learning the load of incredible fantasy that man holds as true and good?

Before you criticize this cartoon as crazy, consider the beliefs you uphold and second guess whether your ideas are absolutely bonker nuts.

And then pat yourself on the back for not falling for Mormonism. What a load of bullshit.

Via Stumble Upon

***UPDATE Feb, 9, 2011***

According to this, this video isn’t an accurate portrayal of Mormonism.

Although despite the video being fake, the fact remains that Mormonism is completely crazy, and it would be completely crazy to believe the stuff they teach.


Roper: Sick and Tired of God Stuff, an open letter to theists

January 26, 2011

The text below is by Carol Roper:

First of all, I am an atheist. Most likely one of the most adamant atheists you’ll ever meet. Let’s talk about why, and what it is that’s got me completely fed up with a good number of believers of almost any stripe.

There is only one simple reason that I am atheist. There is ample evidence that the concept of gods is entirely man made, and additionally, made from ignorance. Most theists have difficulty with this, yet as a friend of mine says, we atheists simply believe in ONE LESS god than you Christians (or Jews, or Moslems, etc) do. I have yet to find a Christian who has difficulty agreeing with me that Zeus or Poseidon ever existed… yet they cling to the ridiculous short-circuited rationalization that THEIR god DOES exist.

“But the Bible says”… hey. I don’t believe in gods so obviously I don’t believe in god-authored books, and therefore I have no interest whatsoever in arguing your quotations with you.

“How can you be moral and ethical without religion to guide you?” Perhaps theists consider themselves too dimwitted to sort out right from wrong, but I don’t feel that we humans really have that problem. More seriously, ethics and morals are very easily proven to be man-made – societally driven, in fact. That’s precisely why ethics and morals differ between cultures and groups. We can see, as communications become more global, that morals are becoming more similar around the world. The United Nations is a good example of politics trying to keep up with societal mores. We don’t do ‘bad’ things because ‘bad’ things ultimately make our lives more difficult.

“What about miracles?” What about them? Never saw one, did you?

“But I have a personal relationship with God!” So, if I said I have a personal relationship with Harvey, who you cannot see, would you find that comforting? I find these ‘personal relationships’ with the unembodied to be downright scary. I prefer my relationships with those I can actually encounter on a physical plane, and further, I distrust anyone who really thinks such supernatural two-way relationships are real. If he or she can err that badly when facing reality, why should I trust him or her about anything?

Read on


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 694 other followers