The resurrection of Marjoe

Ready your gag muscle for this one. There’s been talk of a child preacher show on NatGeo that I have seen listed. The little tyke was featured on NBC recently, and it’s nauseatingly sad.

Kanon Tipton’s dad and grandfather are preachers. Kanon wants to be a preacher because his daddy is a preacher.

Hey Kandi and Damon, we’ve seen this one before. His name is Marjoe, and he showed us how he did it.

The only difference between Kanon and Marjoe … Kanon hasn’t figured out you’re egregiously exploiting him for your profit yet.

I mean, you even combined your stupid names together to make his name. Marjoe was a combination of Mary and Joseph …

You two are sick people.

 

6 thoughts on “The resurrection of Marjoe

  1. At around the 1:17 mark Kanon’s father says: “…it feels like a fantasy world we’re living in.”

    I don’t remember the last time I heard someone utter something so ironic.

    The kid is just mimicking period.

  2. Reminds me of the baby I saw mimicking the people around it, praying and swaying and making odd noises during a worship service.

    Not unlike those worshipers around it, I guess.

  3. This was on the Dutch radio this morning and it was classed as “weird heavy creepy shit verging on child abuse” by the DJ….and I think he summed it up quite nicely with the addition of “plus it reminds me of The Exorcist”

  4. One question came to mind as I watched him flip through what appeared to be the Bible…So can I assume too that the 4-year-old knows how to read? I have no kids as reference, but it seems like that is a little young for reading what we have to assume is the King James Version of the Bible.

    1. At 4 he may be able to read and be somewhat decent at it. His reading comprehension however is probably not enough to glance through the KJV Bible and get notes from it or anything of the sort. What 4 year-olds are good at is imitation.

      Look at his performance and you’ll see gestures and phrases he’s no doubt picked up from pops and grandpa. The smacking of the podium, the handkerchief wipe of the brow, the intonation at the end of every sentence; they’re all gimmicks he’s been taught.

      1. That was a good point, Aaron.

        I couldn’t read very well at 4. But Luis is probably right. Some kids can.

        Luis, have you watched Marjoe? There were videos of the parents teaching him (I think anyway). There are tricks of the trade that pastors like that use, and kids make it seem so much more effective for those people.

Leave a comment