Steve Jobs, another reason not to believe

October 6, 2011

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”

I found the above quote by Steve Jobs from the famous Stanford Commencement Speech over at Kottke.org. I posted the speech here before, and I find it one more reason why disbelief in all supernatural is the best way to go.

The greatest business leaders and forerunners of artistic achievement share my perspective for a liberally progressive society. And it’s great to be validated often for that idea. Someone told me just this week that I’ll become more “conservative” as I grow older.

The liberal mentality matches Yeshua’s message more directly than the conservatives will ever achieve. But I don’t believe in Yeshua, only parts of his message. So what do I know.

 


a portrait of my dad

October 6, 2011

I took this shot of my dad (the old fart) on Tuesday. He needed a pro shot for the work he’s been doing.

I did this one with dramatic lighting that he probably can’t use for his work in China, but it’s a shot I’m proud of anyway.

My dad really likes it. He thinks it makes him look patriarchial.  Tina says he looks like a founding father. I told her not to give dad any ideas. He might want to work on Michele Bachmann’s presidential campaign.

I’m particularly proud that I set up the shot outside trying to use the sun as a hair light, but ended up overpowering it too much. The black backdrop I attached to the fence, because I didn’t bring any extra stands except one for the strobe I used. The kicker is a silver reflector just outside of frame.

 

 

 


Enter Sandman by 8 and 10 year old kids

October 6, 2011

I was harsh the other day when I talked about the tape of my old, high school band that I was in.

I was only referring to the fidelity of the album. The actual songs, some of them, were really pretty good and I’ve been singing them since listening to them.

My brother’s songwriting talent has always been amazing, and I wish he would make it HUGE.

All that said, I couldn’t imagine growing up now, with all the ways that a band can distribute their work via the Internet.

I could totally see how getting on YouTube and getting mega hits would be an amazing feeling of accomplishment.

Via Cynical C


… and not to mention Steve Jobs

October 6, 2011

Sorry guys and gals, it’s going to be a slow day here. I haven’t had time to schedule any posts today. I’ll try to get around to some posts, but I’m soaking up the family for our last day here.

Tomorrow we’ll be on the road home so Tina can squeeze her sweet puss Zoe.

Tina’s hanging out with my sister and SiL today.

I’m hanging with my dad.

What are you doing?

 


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 696 other followers