Screaming on Santa’s lap

December 17, 2011

More often than not, the pictures my parent friends are posting on Facebook of their kids with Santa includes their child crying on Santa’s lap.

Unless the parents are in the photo with the toddlers, the kids’ faces have a look frightened.

Which made me think, what if parents were to introduce their children other mythical figures, like Buddha, Muhammed or Jesus. I bet these kids would run from these icons of religious thought.

And rightly so.


Gotta Reblog: TYWKIWDBI, The “ovarian lottery.” Brooklyn, N.Y., 1947

December 17, 2011

I was over at one of my new favorite haunts, TYWKIWDBI, and I read a post called, “The “ovarian lottery.” Brooklyn, N.Y., 1947” (link to post).

I never heard that Warren Buffet referred to where you’re born as the “ovarian lottery,” but it’s the perfect verbal representation of why most poor are poor, rich are rich, Christians are Christians, Muslims are Muslims, and on and on and on.

Here is the picture and text that TYWKIWDBI posted. It’s food for thought.

I was one year old when this photo was taken, so that little kid in the window and I are contemporaries.  Our lives have been quite different.

Warren Buffett referred to that situation as the “ovarian lottery.”  It’s the single most important thing in your entire life.


Jenna Marbles, I mean, Madonna does Christmas Crafts

December 17, 2011

Watch your volume on this.

 


It’s Caturday!

December 17, 2011

This Caturday’s soon-to-be-famous feline is brought to you by Callie, regular reader Aaron’s cuddly cutie.

Well, maybe not cuddly. I’ve never successfully cuddled with Callie. But I hear it’s a warm, fuzzy time.

Aaron didn’t know he was submitting this photo for Caturday when he posted it a week ago.

But when you put your kitties on Facebook, there’s a chance I might have to snatch ‘em up and put ‘em on the blog.

Happy Caturday!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 696 other followers