Peeper Dee #95

April 4, 2012

Gotta few submissions today for Peeper Dee #95. You can be included. Get your pics in.

This is a late posting, because I was out at basketball. But I’ll try to post them by 7-ish. Remember, if I post, it’s not too late to submit.

Old Fart

Xina

tina s

sunny lee

by jeremy witt


When the bible prophesied the end times, it was predicting when Google Glasses would come out

April 4, 2012

If these babies from Google don’t spell the end of the world as we know it, I’ll be a monkey’s uncle’s brother.

Via Kottke


Meet one of our models for our shoot on Saturday

April 4, 2012

20120404-174722.jpg

Bill, Tina and I are gearing up for our shoot on Saturday. We’re renting a studio, and we’ve got two female models and one male named Casper.

Casper is a sweet-ass Burmese Python. I can’t wait to introduce Casper to everyone else.

:)


Death by auto accident encourages belief in God

April 4, 2012

Here’s a popular meme going around (click to enlarge).

It’s a photo that depicts the wreckage of a vehicle after a catastrophic accident. There appears to be dead people strewn bloodily throughout the car, except for one little boy who seems untouched.

The caption reads, “Share if u believe in God.”

Yes, I get why believers see this as a miracle. The miracle would be if all of the people inside were safe. Or if the accident didn’t happen in the first place. Or if the accident happened, and the car itself were untouched as well as the occupants.

This is a travesty, not a miracle, and it’s another reason why I don’t believe.

Via Facebook


Dave Barry on Religion

April 4, 2012

A reader sent me the above graphic with a Dave Barry quote on it.

Oddly enough, it included a weird line in the background that reads, “trying god’s patience.” That doesn’t make any sense in context of the quote.

I was just talking to Tina the other day about how, whether it comes off or not, Dave Barry is often the voice in my head when I’m trying to be funny.

Trying is a key word in that sentence.

I’ve posted this quote (link) before, it’s the second to last quote below. I found a few more that I’ll post as well (found here):

• “The problem with writing about religion is that you run the risk of offending sincerely religious people, and then they come after you with machetes.”

• “People who want to share their religious views with you almost never want you to share yours with them.”

• “The one thing that unites all human beings, regardless of age, gender, religion or ethnic background, is that we all believe we are above-average drivers.”

• “Hobbies of any kind are boring except to people who have the same hobby. (This is also true of religion, although you will not find me saying so in print.)”

• “I like the relaxed way in which the Japanese approach religion. I think of myself as basically a moral person, but I’m definitely not religious, and I’m very tired of the preachiness and obsession with other people’s behavior characteristic of many religious people in the United States. As far as I could tell, there’s nothing preachy about Buddhism. I was in a lot of temples, and I still don’t know what Buddhists believe, except that at one point Kunio said ‘If you do bad things, you will be reborn as an ox.’” (Dave Barry Does Japan)

• “I liked making people laugh, and I decided I was an atheist early on. My Dad was all right with that. We argued about it all the time, but it was good-natured. He was the most open-minded human being I’ve ever known.” (Barry’s father was a Presbyterian minister)

• “The thing about religion is that everybody else’s always appears stupid.”


David Cross on Mormonism

April 4, 2012

Probably NSFW. This is from Bigger and Blackerer, and while David Cross is funnier on other albums about religion, it’s worth a listen.

Via Cynical C


Photographing while running

April 4, 2012

Yesterday, I went for a much-needed jog. When I’m busy, I get to exercise much less, and scheduling time to workout is a chore.

There are a few of you who I’ve convinced to use the Runkeeper app for the iPhone so we can share our experiences and, hopefully, encourage each other through a little healthy competition.

Regular reader Xina turned me on to the camera function in the app that allows you to shoot a photograph, and it GPS locates it to the place you were when you took it and adds it to your map at the end of the run.

While I was running, I decided to shoot without stopping as much as possible. The results were interesting, and better than I anticipated. I expected blurry shots. But the shutter was quick enough to capture the action without stopping. One of them was my Peeper Dee yesterday. Here are a couple more.


“Divorce expos: A sign of the times?”

April 4, 2012

From The Week:

Forget the tiered cakes and floral arrangements that pack the halls of wedding expos. Divorce showcases are brimming with life coaches and dating experts

POSTED ON APRIL 3, 2012, AT 2:20 PM

Women comprised roughly 70 percent of attendees at New York City's first-ever divorce expo.

Women comprised roughly 70 percent of attendees at New York City’s first-ever divorce expo. Photo: Courtesy ShutterstockSEE ALL 87 PHOTOS

The expo has become a staple of the insatiable wedding industry, with stalls upon stalls helping the newly engaged make the myriad decisions that go into their special day. But blushing brides-to-be were in short order at a related expo in New York City this weekend. Titled “Start Over Smart,” it was the city’s first-ever expo for divorcees, many of whom are wrestling with some pretty serious decisions of their own. And while “Start Over Smart’ doesn’t dwell on the happiest of events, the hundreds of attendees weren’t engaged in long harangues or bitter fist-shaking. Instead, the expo tried to put a positive spin on what roughly half of married Americans will one day experience. Here, a guide to this “sign of the times”:

What is a divorce expo?
Instead of vendors selling wedding dresses and bouquets, “life coaches, financial planners, family counselors, and even hairstylists” are on hand to help “new divorcees field the brave, new life of singledom,” says Erica Ho atTIME. Attendees can also get tips on dating and sex, which could be especially valuable “if you’ve been with the same person for five, 10, or 20 years,” says Cindy Perman at CNBC. “Your waistline is different now, your hairline is different, your dating pool is different — and dating is different.”

Read on


It’s Wednesdog!

April 4, 2012

This week’s humping, sweet cheeks Wednesdog is brought to you by regular-reading dog lover Petursey and his sweet, sweet girl Molly.

Pete’s one of our many international readers who — if you didn’t know — has an eye and know-how for great photography and a penchant for keeping one of the cutest dogs ever.

I want to let Pete tell you the story of how he got Molly. It’s a great one:

The weird thing about Molly and me is that when I got her I never actually planned to get her. I’d made the appointment to go and see the breeder but was not sure about getting her as she was brindle ( I wanted a red Akita) and that she was the last puppy. When I got to the breeders I asked why she was the last pup and the breeder said there were two reasons…one that she’d been standoff-ish with everyone who came to see the other puppies and two the breeder wanted to keep her herself but her husband said No.. So she warned me not to expect much when she opened the doors….so I was prepared for a not very nice puppy. The breeder opened the door..Molly appeared saw me, looked in my eyes and flew across the room and onto my lap. Everyone looked on in shock and the breeders husband said ” Well someone made her choice it was like she had been waiting…I paid the money and came home with the best dog in the world… And the rest is history !

See! I told you it was great.

Don’t forget to brush between your canines today.

And hug a dog and hump a leg when you can!


meeting people is easy

April 4, 2012

Last night, Tina, my photography partner Bill and I went on a brainstorming session to talk about a shoot we’re doing on Saturday.

We were also supposed to meet with a clothing designer to pick out some stuff to use for our models.

The shoot is exciting. Bill made a contact at a magazine that is going to feature us in an online magazine spread and behind the scenes shoot.

We ducked in a local Mexican restaurant to have a beer and talk. While we were waiting, a guy sitting by himself said, “Hey, are jew a photographer?”

I tend to carry my camera around with me. It’s a walking advertisement for Pete’s sake.

“Yes,” I said.

“Hey, would jew … would jew take my picture?

He was a little sauced, and I’m always looking for a stranger to shoot.

I said, “Yeah, of course.”

“How much would you charge?” he asked.

“Man, for you, nothin. Let me just set my camera.” I started fondling my dials to set up for an indoor light. I resorted to a slowish shutter (1/40th), an aperture of around 4.5 (I wanted more depth of field),  and prayed I didn’t fuck it up.

The above shot is the result.

The guy introduced himself and we friended each other on Facebook.

I love these kinds of interactions. It makes being what I love and what I love to do … better.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 696 other followers