My portrait of the band HIM = Snarly!

HIM PORTRAIT

 

At JBTV, Bill Whitmire setup a strobe and a backdrop in a little room to get portraits of the bands that go through.

Thanks to Bill’s busy schedule, he asked me if I could capture the bands that he can’t get. Above is a shot of the band HIM that I got yesterday.

Frontman Ville Valo is, honestly, one of the coolest guys I’ve met briefly. We chatted for 5 minutes waiting for the rest of the band to wrap up whatever little adjustments that need to be made before their performance before the studio audience. Physically, he reminded me of Alex from A Clockwork Orange, but his genuine personality made me want to hang out all day.

Although, I think I would want to hang out with Alex from A Clockwork as well. So there’s that.

The whole band seemed cool. I was particularly pleased with the drummers Blackcraft t-shirt with large lettering in the back that read, “Jesus Enslaves.”

We get these shots between the sound check and the performance, so in this one, they had their ear gear dangling, which I think adds something cool … as if it’s a purposeful accessory. The keyboardist is the one with the coffee cup, and I told him not to put down the cup for the shot, but I wish he was holding it up rather than to the side.

Shooting these portraits is quickly becoming my favorite thing in the world. For about a year and a half, I was shooting bands for Time Out Chicago, but it’s very little if any pay, and the commitment wasn’t worth it. There are a crapload of concert shooters, and I didn’t feel like it was setting me apart as a photographer.

Mind you, concert photography changed my entire shooting and editing style. I’m much faster at what I do. I get sharper, more balanced photos faster than ever. I get what I want and I move on. The old me used to shoot a zillion shots thinking the next one would somehow be better than the great one I already got.

But portraits. PORTRAITS! I LOVE PORTRAITS. I love when I get photos of people looking directly at you. I love looking straight into the eyes of my subjects.

I’ll throw a few more performance shots beneath the fold for you to take a look at. Click any image to embiggen.

HIM | JBTV | March 12, 2014

HIM | JBTV | March 12, 2014

HIM | JBTV | March 12, 2014

HIM | JBTV | March 12, 2014

HIM | JBTV | March 12, 2014

HIM | JBTV | March 12, 2014

HIM | JBTV | March 12, 2014

HIM | JBTV | March 12, 2014

HIM | JBTV | March 12, 2014

HIM | JBTV | March 12, 2014

HIM | JBTV | March 12, 2014

HIM | JBTV | March 12, 2014

HIM | JBTV | March 12, 2014

HIM | JBTV | March 12, 2014

 

2 thoughts on “My portrait of the band HIM = Snarly!

Leave a Reply

