Monthly self-portrait challenge: April. Theme = Water

self_portrait_april_2014-1

The 12-self portrait challenge continues in April with the theme water.

This is one that I would have liked to spend more time and use more equipment on, but when it came down to it, I let the deadline inform the way I took the photo.

Sunday slash Easter was one of the warmest days we’ve had so far. My three nephews were here, and after dinner, I said, “Hey guys, I need your help.

I only have one Paul C Buff Einstein that I could trigger, but I popped off a PCB Alien Bee 800 as well.  You see, to stop water in motion, you need a short pop of light. And in a case like this, the more light sources the better as we were covering a pretty large area of splash.

It was either that or I needed a studio full of lights I don’t own.

My intention was to stop the water completely, but I needed a few more faster pops of low light, and I didn’t have time to pick up triggers for my Speedlites from Bill.

So I compromised.

I set up a backdrop in our parking area, and had water coming at me from the sides and above. My family were all involved by the end, as they thought dousing Jeremy while he tried to capture it on film was hilarious.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

