The best way to spend a morning

gabby_

Yesterday I had the pleasure of photographing singer/songwriter Gabby Aplin at JBTV.

She’s not only one of the sweetest people I’ve ever met, but one of the prettiest. I’ve had to spend a bit of last night and this morning pouring over this image. And I have to say, I don’t mind one bit.

My sittings with musicians are always very short. I get a few minutes with them between their sound check and their performance.

But yesterday’s sitting will likely remain one of the most salient.

After shooting about eight frames, which I was more than happy about, I said, “Gabby, thank you so much. I’m done with this part.”

Gabby said, “Oh, really? That was quick.”

“I know, right,” I said. “I don’t like to take much of your time.”

She smiled gratefully.

Then I said, “… but Jerry likes to get a shot with the talent. I’m going to go grab him and I’ll be right back.”

As I walked away, I heard her say, “Okay, I’ll sweep while I wait!”

In my mind, I couldn’t get my head around what she meant. I turned around and she had found a broom and she was pretending to sweep the floor.

I let out a boisterous laugh.

When I called out to Jerry who was finishing his camera prep for the live performance, “Wanna get a shot with Gabby?”

“Oh yeah. Thanks.”

“I told her I was going to get you and she said she would sweep while she waited,” I told him.

“What?”

When we opened the door to the photo studio, there she was, sweeping.

It melted my heart. What a sweet, fun person.

Leave a Reply

