Talulah and the Fujifilm #X100s

lu

Sometimes I get a bug in my bonnet to pick up new gear. Or used. Depending on the case.

I’ve been turned on by the Fujifilm x100s from different blogs that I read, and I love the idea of the leaf shutter. I love using my Hasselblad in the studio, and sometimes it’s a little overkill to get 31 megapixels when 16 will do just fine.

So the other day I went out and bought one for a good deal, a few hundred off retail. After a couple days of use, I’m not sure this camera is for me. I like that I would probably carry it everywhere, but I am too in love with the quality I get from my Canon 5D Mark III.

Last night I took it to the studio, and spent a helluva time getting to know it. The previous owner had played with all the settings to make it his own, and in doing so, made it impossible for me to use the camera’s hotshoe to fire the strobes. I tried everything. Google couldn’t not answer my questions.

I finally had to reset the camera to factory settings, and fuck did that suck. The focusing seemed to work fine up until then, but when I was taking shots of Lu, there were some that back focused way off. I almost threw the camera across the room. You can’t tell they were back focused on the screen, either. I had to put them on my computer to see.

Talulah was a great model as ever. She’s patient with me, and for the most part models without griping too much.

I’m thinking I’m going to go ahead and sell it. If you’re interested, I’m selling it for what I paid for it.

lu-2

Leave a Reply

