Sean Spicer quotes Trump on jobs growth: “The reports may have phony in the past, but it’s very real now.”

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

I’ve mentioned this several times before, but for the past eight years, one of the corporate events I’ve photographed is a summit in Chicago aimed at luxury architects, interior designers, builders and real estate agents. These people are the creme de la creme of local business.

At this event, I get an insider perspective on what these local business gurus are learning about. Much of it is privileged information regarding their very distinct markets. At this event, I’ve listened to all kinds of writers, professors and economics pros speak on all sorts of topics. I’ve heard high end bankers speak about how the economy has grown since the repression/depression in 2009/2010. Every year, I’ve listened in on how well the US economy has become since it tanked thanks to George W.

This isn’t a political event. This is a business event. And many of the people in the room are vastly different in where they land on a political spectrum. I’m quite surprised that most of them tend to lean Republican, which is weird in a town like Chicago.

Nonetheless, every one of them cares about the direction of markets.

Every year I attended said summit, every year I heard of improvements to the economy and the jobs markets. Every year, I talked to my parents about it, but they would shit on it as untrue. “It depends on where you get your information from,” said my mom once when I told her that indications from the economy under Barrack Obama show steady declines in jobless rates, upticks in new jobs and an augmenting economy.

But that’s not what the so-called conservative news tells conservatives, so it’s just not true.

Even President Donald J Trump called statistics at 5% unemployment to be “phony.”

But now … now that we have a ultra douchebag asshole in the white house … that’s when the news is now great again.

On the campaign trail, Trump said, “Don’t believe those phony numbers when you hear 4.9 and 5 percent unemployment. The number’s probably 28, 29, as high as 35.”

According to Bloomberg, year over year, these aren’t even the best numbers. Last year they were 237,000 new jobs and the year before 238,000.

I’m guessing my parents will too change their tune and whistle praises toward Trumps progress … as he rides the coat tails of the greatest president in my lifetime.

It’s pathetic and sad really. It’s a shame that people can’t see past politics and just talk truth. Why can’t people just say and see things as they are, and stop addressing things as political? They raising economy didn’t have to do anything with the president. It could have just been what was happening. It’s this insistance on creating chasms between people who might have a card in their pocket reading “Republican” or another person with one that reads “democrat.”

It’s ridiculous.

When and if the economy improves because of Trump’s leadership, I’ll give credit where it’s due. I’ve been told that my healthcare may improve under Trump, and until I see it, I can’t say whether or not it’s true. There’s just no way to tell. I know my healthcare went from awesome 2 or 3 years ago to complete shit this year. I pay more and get less.

Let’s trudge forward and see what happens.

 

Leave a Reply

