“The rise of Arab atheism”

I’m not sure I agree with the title of this piece (atheism pertains to no singular religion), but I can surely find interesting bits from which to drive validation. Emphasis is mine below. Link in title below as well.

A snip:

The issue most often cited by Arabs as their first step on the road to disbelief was the apparent unfairness of divine justice. The picture they had acquired was of an irascible and sometimes irrational deity who behaves in much the same way as an Arab dictator or an old-fashioned family patriarch – an anthropomorphic figure who makes arbitrary decisions and seems eager to punish people at the slightest opportunity. Dire warnings, constantly repeated in the Qur’an, of what would happen to non-believers had clearly made a strong impression on them in childhood.

“The idea of eternal hell was very disturbing to me,” said Mohammed Ramadan, an Egyptian. “I was nine when I asked my parents why would God punish us for ever when we live for an average of only 70 years.”

A Saudi who is known on Twitter as “Arab Atheist” was troubled by the question of why seemingly decent non-Muslims should be punished by God. Arriving in the US to study at a Jesuit college, he began to realise “how similar all religions are” in their basic teachings. “In Islam,” he said, “we are taught that all non-Muslims are going to hell. I had Jewish neighbours who were the kindest and sweetest couple and it made me wonder, why should they go to hell? And suddenly Islam started to crumble in my eyes.

The rise of Arab atheism Across the Middle East, governments are cracking down on non-belief. But Arab atheists are becoming more visible –   by Brian Whitaker   –MONDAY,  29TH JUNE 2015

One thought on ““The rise of Arab atheism”

  1. Scaring tactics are what most religions are based on.Luckily I have seen the llight.I am actually surprised to see that there are Arab atheists.I always had the notion that they have been so brain washed as not to think for themselves.But here again,we have the horrible punishments for not believing,that keep these people under cover.To me religion is all about controll.That is why I hate it!

Leave a Reply

