Grandiose intentions sometimes are just grandiose intentions


Swinging back into a blogging routine has been more difficult than I imagined. Our work schedule has been unrelenting since May.

I’m hoping that by attempting to journal a bit this year and even blog a bit more will help me — at least in hindsight — identify the best way(s) to move into 2018.

Being a freelancer is both a fun and a challenging way to live a life. Achieving a circadian rhythm is something so many people seem to benefit from, and I can’t seem to ever get into any kind of consistent rhythm.

One thing I wanted to share quickly was this sheet of bullet points sitting in front of me since August. It’s kind of the prosperity gospel in secular form.

It describes the habits/thoughts of an abundance thinker versus a scarcity thinker.

 

  • Believe there is always more where that came from.
  • Share their knowledge, contacts, and compassion with others.
  • Default to trust and build rapport easily.
  • Welcome competition, believing it makes the pie bigger and them better.
  • Ask themselves, How can I give more than is expected?
  • Are optimistic about the future, believing the best is yet to come.
  • Think big, embracing risk.
  • Are thankful and confident.

In reverse, scarcity thinkers:

  • Believe there will never be enough.
  • Are stingy with their knowledge, contacts, and compassion.
  • Default to suspicion and find it difficult to build rapport.
  • Resent competition, believing it makes the pie smaller and them weaker.
  • Ask themselves, How can I get by with less than is expected?
  • Are pessimistic about the future, believing that tough times are ahead.
  • Think small, avoiding risk.
  • Are entitled and fearful.

And while I agree that the positivity of the first group is a good way to move through life, I didn’t get to where I am because I believed there will be more where that came from. If I did, I wouldn’t have made it through the 2007/2008 financial crash.

Being adaptive and realistic is what got me through.

Although, when I read the scarcity ideas, there is nothing worse than the thought: “How can I get by with less than is expected.” As an artist, I would almost give all my talents away. Charging money for what I do is so so hard. I am in love with what I do. So doing something and just getting by might seep into my mind if I’m way too busy … But even then, I wear myself out trying to do more than is expected.

In reverse, I expect that from others. But I’m constantly let down that so many people I associate with or know are okay with doing far less than expected.

Which in turn makes me pessimistic about others.

But sometimes I have to remember other people’s abilities don’t match my expectations.

There’s always that.

I have been doing more to be more optimistic. And to share my knowledge is really on top of my radar. I think that’s what my goal is when I think of trying to get back into the vLog game. I want to share with others our trials and tribulations. Whatever they may be. But I’ve gotten out of a routine. And routines are super easy to break and extremely tough to resume.

If you want to read the rest of the article about abundance thinking, go here.

Hopefully you’ll want to stick around and get more info out of the guy behind this blog. I’m getting there. I swear.

 

