Thoughts on assholery

There’s been something bothering me. Or maybe it’s some things.

Maybe it’s the Christmas season. Maybe it’s spending more time with friends and family.

Maybe it’s the idea that this economy is so tough, I have no idea if next week I’m going to have to find a job in the “real” world.

Last night I was listening to music that reminded me of an old girlfriend and I found myself a bit more emotional than usual. It wasn’t a longing for my ex-girlfriend. It was a return to emotions that I felt during our breakup.

But there are a zillion things are bringing the emotion right now. This blog for example.

I mean, Le Café represents ideologies that are completely contradictory to my upbringing. Some of the biggest readers of this blog are family, like my dad, my brother, my sister in law. I think my mom either reads it, or gets second hand info from my dad. But regardless, it’s understood that the universe-sized elephant in Chicago is the asshole who battles his former belief in Christianity via a public blog on the internet.

While I don’t sit here saying, “I’m going to hurt my family’s feelings today,” I can honestly say that my motivation is not to hurt them. I realize that it would be difficult to separate self from faith, as most people identify their person with faith.

My criticisms are surely offensive. (More below the fold).

Continue reading “Thoughts on assholery”

Monday photo editing

miles2-1

Monday means more photo editing. Here’s a black and white I’ve been working on.

Black and white is much more difficult that I ever thought. I mean, you don’t just turn an image black and white and say, “Voila! It’s finished.”

I don’t anyway.

 

Cory Booker blissfully reports on day 6 of his food stamp challenge

English: Logo of the .
English: Logo of the . (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Newark Mayor Cory Booker took a challenge to live on food stamps (SNAP) for a week. Here are his thoughts from day 6:

 

Today is my 6th day of the SNAP Challenge; my 6th sweet potato; my 6th day of canned beans; and, my 6th day of canned veggies. I still like those foods but I found myself craving some variety. I realize when you find food on sale or buy in bulk, you can end up eating a lot of the same thing over and over.

Some of the people contacting me through social media have shared stories of people buying junk on SNAP or worse abusing the system. Well, after one week eating a SNAP equivalent diet I can’t blame someone for buying something as a “treat” or sweets to break up a diet a bit. Also, I know that folks on SNAP don’t always have an abundance of wholesome food available to them and end up consuming many empty calories. The fraud and abuse issues do exist but are often overblown or exaggerated.

As my food supply dwindles, I am keenly aware that millions of Americans face food insecurity and hunger on a daily basis. I am deeply concerned, and believe our nation needs to be more attentive and engaged. The SNAP program is at great risk for budget cuts as Washington pares federal spending to avert a year-end fiscal crisis. These cuts to SNAP funding could mean millions of more Americans – families with children, families with elderly and veterans – will live with less food, less options, and less hope.

 

 

Via JMG

 

 

 

 


More here. 

 

 

 

 

 

Business Cat meme is funny

tumblr_meqf60z5rv1qewacoo1_r2_500

Via Tastefully Offensive and more here.

We’re going to have to think outside the box here. I just pooped in it. The sales contract had a few strings attached I played with them for 2 hours. I’m leaving this company. No wait I want to come back in. We need to focus on the 4th quarter. I batted the first three under the couch. Regarding that presentation you left on my desk, I’m going to sleep on it. The red dot seems to be attracted to powerpint. I will make a presentation to lure it in.