What the hell is he working on?

Lately I’ve been working on videos that will be promoting two shows called One of a Kind Chicago and One of a Kind New York. One of a Kind is a show that gathers a bunch of artists together in one place during the holidays and allows regular schmoes to buy their work. It’s a great concept. The brand is over 15 years old and it originated out of Canada.

I’ve been asked to complete six videos total. Two are short promos, and four of them have runtimes of around four minutes. This is no small task as I act as director, producer, cinematographer AND editor. There is a lot of organization involved. Half the time, clients like this don’t really know anything about video production, so there is a lot of hand holding.

At the same time, I get to take the steering wheel on a lot of aspects of the creative process.

Just to goof around, and because I’ve been neglecting Le Café this week, I’ve uploaded one of the rough edits of one of the short promos for your viewing pleasure. It’s not the highest quality, and the music isn’t purchased yet. It’s the demo of the song. That means it’s not as crisp as it should be. Otherwise, I’m pretty happy with the pace and editing.

Bon appétit.

Shermer: Why People Believe Invisible Agents Control the World

I enjoyed this article from Michael Shermer. You should read it. Here’s the first paragraph and a link to the rest.

Bon appétit.

Souls, spirits, ghosts, gods, demons, angels, aliens, intelligent designers, government conspirators, and all manner of invisible agents with power and intention are believed to haunt our world and control our lives. Why?

Read the rest of the article.

New campaign from Visine, tattoo the red out!

Ever since I can remember, I get inexplicably bloodshot eyes. It happens a lot if I work for long periods behind my computer or even with a camera in hand, or if I go to the movie theater and do a 2-hour movie in the dark. Of course it happens other times as well. I remember coming out of a movie theater as a teenager, and someone asked me if I had been smoking pot. I’ve never smoked pot. It’s a vice I don’t need. Although, if it were legal, I’d be more prone to try it.

I often carry Visine in my pocket, especially when I’m on jobs, because I don’t like it when my eyes get bloodshot.

But this new trend among prisoners has my interest peeked. Tattooing eyeballs a particular color.

I especially liked the guy who went with blue because his eyes are blue. He obviously hasn’t studied art. What a moron. Complimentary colors, douchebag.

Imagine you’re a manager of a store. Your 2:00 comes in and says, “Hello, I’m here for the job.” You peer into his eyes and there are no whites, just blue on blue.

All hail the penal system.

Quantum Physics Made Relatively Simple


I enjoyed this series of lectures on Quantum Mechanics done ten years ago. You should go bookmark it, and make a point to put it on while you’re cooking, or while you think you should be watching American Idol.

Then, when you’re by the water cooler on Wednesday morning, explain to your colleagues a rudimentary understanding of Quantum Mechanics. They will think you’re the smartest person in the room.