Atheist Revolution names PZ Myers “Idiot of the Week” … them’s fightin’ words!

The blogger vjack grew another six balls over at Atheist Revolution and named PZ Myers the idiot of the week. vjack writes:

But once again, PZ seems to be disregarding what he recognized earlier – atheism is an outcome and not a cause. I do take pride in being an atheisteven  though I recognize the limited meaning of atheism. I am proud in having arrived at the consequence of atheism. I am also proud of all the things which helped me get there – things that have nothing whatsoever to do with the meaning of atheism – (i.e., skepticism, application of the scientific method, critical thinking, study of philosophy, etc.).

I hope you take this post for what it was and do not misconstrue it as an attack on PZ Myers. He chose to label his feelings toward many of us “hate,” and while I do not think he means it for one second, I wanted to play too. I needed to write an Idiot post and a post about PZ. Given my time constraints, I thought it would be fun to combine them. I have great respect for PZ and know he’s no idiot.

I read some of PZ’s original post that pissed vjack off. I haven’t had a lot of time to do more than skim blogs lately, and while I figured it was relatively incendiary, I figured it was PZ being PZ.

We should be as critical of our own as we are of everything else. So good for vjack for calling PZ out to the playground. Now we’ll have to see if PZ retaliates and gives vjack what he’s looking for … his very own post that will send his hits through the roof!

Take a look see at the rest of vjack’s post!

2 thoughts on “Atheist Revolution names PZ Myers “Idiot of the Week” … them’s fightin’ words!

  1. Meh, I’m over PZ. He’s become loud and boorish and I have very little patience for his childish behaviors. I would go so far as to say that he has become a liability concerning the public’s view of atheism.

    1. I’m glad you said this.

      I’m not going to say I’m not a fan.

      I agree with vjack. PZ’s blog minions are pathetically loyal. It must feel great to have the following. I can count on one hand how many times I’ve commented on Pharyngula.

      Bang for the buck, PZ Myers has a lot to say and I like reading what he writes. I can’t always get through his posts without yawning or losing interest. But I give his thoughts a listen and move on.

      What happens when I read PZ’s posts is that I become validated in some of my anger, and that turns into an angry voice here on my blog. I have to watch out for that some times.

      We’ll see how things progress, shall we?

Leave a comment